Flossy goes to rheumatology.

Finally, I got to rheumatology. My appointment came as part of a waiting list initiative so I was seen in a private clinic by a very approachable, knowledgeable rheumatologist who is trying to get me into the local NHS rheumatology clinic because they basically have bette facilities and access to the same computer system as my GP and all the blood tests.

She diagnosed me with Mixed Connective Tissue Disease with strong leanings towards limited Scleroderma and certain aspects of Sjogren’s and Lupus. I was quite shocked. A lot of the things I just thought were normal actually turn out not to be so normal… Ulcers, hair thinning, dry eyes. What I don’t understand is why my immune system likes to beat me up so much.

In the meantime I will start medication for the Raynaud’s, stay on the tablets for my tummy and possibly start Plaquenil for the Lupus. I also intend to keep running and enjoying the lovely fresh air and great outdoors that does me so much good.

So, how do you tame an over active immune system? Why are these illnesses becoming so common and why, according to a relative, are they so common in Ireland in particular? Other than that, what is the best thing I can do for myself in this position?

Leave a comment